Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847). Fantasy in f-sharp minor Op.28 (Scottish Sonata)

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy (1809-1847) was a German composer, pianist and conductor.

The Fantasy in F sharp minor Op.28 ( Scottish Sonata ) is a large scale composition.  It is  considered one of Mendelssohn’s best piano works.  Exactly when Mendelssohn wrote this fantasy has not been determined, the final manuscript was completed in 1833.

Following in the pattern of Beethoven’s famous “Sonata quasi Fantasia Op.27 no.2” each movement of Mendelssohn’s Fantasy adopts a quicker tempo than the preceding one, comprising three movements without separation:

I. Con Moto agitato – Andante;

II. Allegro con moto;

III. Presto,

Mendelssohn was a composer who from an early age discovered and developed his own individual language, the resemblance to Beethoven’s sonata is only in its external form or structure.  The Fantasy is very original.  


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s